News & Events

Today Tnpsc Group1 mains challenge-Millennium Development Goals

What is Millennium Development Goals (MDGs)?
In 2000 General Assembly of UN, 189 nations made a promise to free people from extreme poverty and multiple deprivations. This pledge became the Eight Millennium Development Goals to be achieved by 2015.

They are:
1. Eradicate extreme poverty and hunger
2. Achieve universal primary education
3. Promote gender equality and empower women
4. Reduce child mortality
5. Improve Maternal health
6. Combat HIV/AIDs, malaria and other diseases
7. Ensure environmental sustainability
8. Develop a global partnership for development