News & Events

TNPSC GROUP 1 CHALLENGE-Like-Minded Megadiverse Countries

Like-Minded Megadiverse Countries

The like-minded Megadiverse Countries (LMMC) is a group of countries that harbor the majority of the Earth's species and are therefore considered extremely biodiverse.
They are rich in biological diversity (60-70% of the world’s Biodiversity) and associated traditional knowledge. Conservation International identified 17 megadiverse countries in 1998. All are located in, or partially in, the tropics.

The current members of LMMC are:

Bolivia, Brazil, Canada,China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Ecuador, Guatemala,India, Indonesia, Iran,Kenya, Madagascar, Malaysia, Mexico, Peru, Philippines, South Africa, USA, Venezuela.


The principle criterion is endemism, first at the species level and then at higher taxonomic levels such as genus and family. To qualify as a Megadiverse country, a country must
1) Have at least 5000 of the world’s plants as endemics.

2) Have marine ecosystems within its borders.

While there is no specific management associated with this concept, 17 countries rich in biological diversity and associated traditional knowledge have formed a group known as the Like Minded Megadiverse Countries. This group was formed in 2002 in Mexican city Cancun to act as a mechanism of cooperation on the conservation of biological diversity and traditional knowledge.